A New Blog

Posted: November 19, 2013 in Blogging
Tags: , ,

I’ve been thinking about starting a new blog for a while now, and finally decided I needed to set one up for those moments when I have something in my head that I want to get out. The problem is by the time I boot up my aging laptop I’ve forgotten what I wanted to write down. Like this morning, I had a series of sentences, thoughts, swirling around in my head, but I hadn’t finished setting up the new blog yet. So now that I’ve spent an hour trying to customize features that cannot be customized without paying money, and settling for what you see before you as the best “free” option on WordPress (I want to use WordPress because its one of the few blogging sites I haven’t already used at some time or another), all of those nifty, thought-provoking sentences have vanished, along with my creativity. All I want to do now is go back to bed, which was actually my goal when I got up this morning anyway, not having slept well and then waking with a bad headache. After the boyfriend left for work, I got up to pee, take something for my headache, and go back to bed, hoping nobody would show up at the door. But the laptop was right thereĀ and I got sucked into the black hole that is the Internet. Writing my thoughts down on paper is always the easier choice, but then you have those words there, plain as day, in your own handwriting, never to be denied as yours. Hence the popularity of blogs. You can be anonymous – tell only a few people it’s you or nobody at all.

Anyway, this set-up will do for now. It will take a little getting used to. For instance, I just realized that the cartoon “talk bubble” (or whatever it’s called) in the top right-hand corner will let readers leave a comment if they click it. Cool. Because having the link simply say “click to leave a comment” is just too easy… :/

Comments
  1. Tricia Lowhorn says:

    Awww…I’m on your list of followed blogs! Thanks! And I completely understand the feeling of wanting to write something and then having it vanish once you get to the blog. Notice I haven’t been writing much lately myself. In fact, I want to start a different blog, too – something dealing with creativity in general that I wouldn’t mind sharing on FB, where family and friends can both see – but I can’t figure out what exactly to write about. Oh, well!

  2. shayla says:

    Found you! Thanks for letting me know! Happy blogging&thanks for listing my blog. I should have had internet today but the guy never came, so I am still using my moms tablet & typing with a stylus.. pain in the butt but at least it is something…

Leave a comment